South African visas to be denied or cancelled if you’re from a ‘High Risk Country’

In a bid to prevent the further spread of COVID-19, South Africa has taken extreme measures with regards to some foreign nationals. Ramaphosa’s full speech can be seen here, and further information on immigration policies is listed below:

HIGH RISK COUNTRIES as listed below will NOT be allowed to enter South Africa from 18 March – Ramaphosa says that visas are to be “cancelled with immediate effect and previous visas hereby revoked”.

ANY foreign national that has visited a high risk country in the past 20 days will be denied a visa to enter South Africa.

All citizens who are from a high risk country are required to present themselves for testing if they have entered the country from mid-February – this is to be done at one of the airports.

South African citizens returning from high risk countries will have additional testing and perhaps quarantine.

The HIGH RISK countries have been identified as follows:

  • China
  • United States of America (USA)
  • United Kingdom (UK)
  • Iran
  • Italy
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Germany

How this will affect South African temporary residents and permanent residents is yet to be determined.

Any questions you may have should be directed to us for further answers: